Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scary lipid panel? page

Witchy is offline Member

Scary lipid panel?

Shop Now
    I've been eating about 80/20 primal for the past three months--definitely leaning towards 80-90% primal all the time.

I just had my lipid panel run, and I'm not happy with my results. My HDL:triglyceride ratio is good, but everything else looks pretty crappy to me. My father does have high cholesterol, but mine's only ever been on the "higher side of normal". This is the highest it's ever been. I'm 28 years old, female, non-smoker, I do take hormonal birth control pills, and I weigh about 180lbs. I take a daily 1000mg (salmon) fish oil supplement.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Total Cholesterol 261 (100 - 200) mg/dL
    Triglycerides 80 (25 - 150) mg/dL
    HDL Cholesterol 60 (40 - 59) mg/dL
    LDL Cholesterol 185 (0 - 129) mg/dL
    ~Kai

Visit me at Primal Cauldron for recipes and progress updates.

Chasintrail is offline Senior Member
    No scary at all.

Did you know that up until a few years ago "normal" total cholesterol was 240? Do you know that there is NO evidence that high TC is bad for women? Quite the opposite, some studies seem to indicate that "high" TC in elderly women is protective of all causes mortality.

Do you know that TC under 170 is associated with a higher risk of cancer, stroke, depression, and suicide? Do you know that half the people with heart disease have "low" cholesterol?

Your Triglycerides are under 100 and your HDL is at 60. While your HDL could be higher, you're in a good range. With those numbers, your LDL is not only wrong (the calculation they use does not work with Tris under 100), but is sure to be large and fluffy. TC does not matter, at all.

Witchy is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Chasintrail View Post
    No scary at all.