Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: can general society not connect the dots with heart disease? page

Brent* is offline Senior Member

can general society not connect the dots with heart disease?

Shop Now
    OK, I'm no scientist but this just seems elementary to me. So the majority of people who have heart disease are overweight/fat, correct? If we know that constant high blood sugar levels secrete more insulin, fill up the fat cells, etc, and blood sugar rises from carbs (mainly the bad ones), then why aren't the rest of society connecting the dots here? Are nutritionists just ignoring scientific facts, or is it still disputed that insulin has a direct role in adding weight, obesity, heart disease, etc?

How many scientists, nutritionists, etc would dispute the notion that adding weight is directly tied to carb intake? If no one disputes this, then why the #$@#)(%@#$)!? is their this whole low fat craze sweeping 99% of the country?!

color me confused. Just needed to vent

ljq309 is offline Senior Member
    In Australia today the powers that be have released their new draft-for-comment dietary guidelines. 288 pages of carefully not changing much. Many scientists, many references, not much of any use.
    Lost the weight using CW. Now I just want to be healthier.
    Lisa's primal-ish when she feels like it journal.
    Feel free to read and/or comment, but don't expect me to listen.
    Distance walked 2012: 321 kms as of June 15.

Glamorama is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by ljq309 View Post
    In Australia today the powers that be have released their new draft-for-comment dietary guidelines. 288 pages of carefully not changing much. Many scientists, many references, not much of any use.
    Saw this on the news and got excited. But looks like they are pointing towards vegeterianism more than anything else... Sigh.

Belforte is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Glamorama View Post