Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pull ups - advice please page

spuggygirl is offline Senior Member

Pull ups - advice please

Primal Fuel
    Hi everyone....I'm new to PB and have been lurking around the boards for a few days, so now for my first question.

Diet is going well, but I need to start doing some heavy lifting. Problem is that I hate the gym and really don't want to join one. I know that there are lots of bodyweight alternatives and I can work out at home, but the only problem seems to be around pull ups....I don't have a pull up bar, or anywhere I could put one in my house. Are there any alternative exercises I could do?

Cheers

Al_Kavadlo is offline Senior Member
    The pull-up is an essential movement, in my opinion - especially if you aren't going to lift weights/use gym machines. You can get creative with where you do them though. Check this out: Al Kavadlo – We're Working Out! Scaffold Pull-ups
    "In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they couldn't be more different."

"You can have anything you want, but you can't have everything you want."

My blog: http://www.AlKavadlo.com

iniQuity is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by spuggygirl View Post
    Hi everyone....I'm new to PB and have been lurking around the boards for a few days, so now for my first question.

Diet is going well, but I need to start doing some heavy lifting. Problem is that I hate the gym and really don't want to join one. I know that there are lots of bodyweight alternatives and I can work out at home, but the only problem seems to be around pull ups....I don't have a pull up bar, or anywhere I could put one in my house. Are there any alternative exercises I could do?

Cheers
    In the infamous words of Randy Couture's crappy attempt at a home-fitness machine: "YOU GOT A DOOR!? YOU GOT A GYM!"