Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My Diabetes counselor does not like my fasting blood sugar? Help wanted. page

JimN is offline Member

My Diabetes counselor does not like my fasting blood sugar? Help wanted.

Primal Fuel
    I am new to the Primal diet, but in three weeks I have stabilized my blood sugar levels, cut my medication way down, and lost 6 lbs. The only thing I am not happy with is my fasting blood sugars. I wake up with blood sugar levels of 120 to 130. Ideally, I should be below 100. I have moved my metformin dose to dinner time hoping that it would "slow" my liver from releasing sugar into my system with little effect. During the day my sugars run from 110 to 120. This is being done while eating a lot more fruit (my main source of carbs).

The primal diet itself has helped me to not feel hungry and I have good energy levels. My theory is that the extra fat I am ingesting, is being converted into glucose by my liver. My plan, until I get some ideas from the Forum, is to;

1) Catalog what I eat trying to stay within 483 Calories of Protein, 300 Calories of Carbs, and 1519 Calories of fat (This based on Marks books and my goal to lose 8 lbs a month) and
    2) Experiment up/down with my Metformin dose to see if that has an effect.

Any advice or actions that have worked for others would be welcomed. Thank you.

Karma is offline Senior Member
    The natural levels of fructose in your "mostly fruits" is why your blood sugar is not coming down. Limit yourself to ONE serving of fruit per day and go vegetables for the remainder of your carbohydrates and fiber. After about two weeks of dropping the fruit habit you should see a corespoding drop in fasted blood sugar.

alg2435 is offline Senior Member
    Peas, carrots, brocolli, and quite a few other vegetables have plenty of carbohydrates...
    Making adventure out of this thing called life

JimN is offline Member
    Karma & alg2435,