Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting PB while training for my first half marathon? page

fidens is offline Junior Member

Starting PB while training for my first half marathon?

Primal Fuel
    So PB is making sense to me. The concept seems legit, and practicing it seems very realistic. My only issue is that only 6 weeks ago I started training for the Country Music 1/2 Marathon. I'm in decent shape, could stand to loose probably about 15 pounds to be in "target" weight. Just yesterday I did a 6 mile run in 58 minutes with VERY little effort. I ate a bowl of noodles the night before and load up on water. I usually eat plenty of meat, try to get in veggies (not a veggie fan but I'm trying), and eat probably more fruit than I should. To top that off I have a horrid sweet tooth, I've tried going off sweets in the past but I usually don't fare so well lol.

Anyway, knowing all that, and that the 1/2 marathon isn't until April, would going Primal right now be a good idea? I'm worried about stunting my progress while my body tries to reprogram getting used to burning and using fuel in a new way to what it's been used to for so long. And if so, should I just go all in, or gradual?

Any tips for someone trying to do what I'm doing? I'm thinking that my bowl of noodles before my hour plus runs would still be a good idea, but how do you go off other grains when sandwiches and turkey burgers are so big in my routine?

Anything would be helpful, trying to plan how I'm going to do this is starting to look daunting.

pace2race is offline Senior Member