Thread: Newby - how does this plan sound? page

bahk Guest

Shop Now

Hello all. I'm new to primal and feel very overwhelmed/confused about the fitness aspect of this lifestyle.

Last April I finally decided to take control of my life and make a commitment to exercise. I've been overweight most of all my life. My most was 230lbs at 5'9, large frame. When I began exercise I was about 205 and now I'm down to about 180. I haven't been consistent completely, but I have been doing pretty well as of late.

I work out 5 days a week with 40 mins of somewhat intense cardio which includes the tredmill at a speed of 4.0, and an incline varying between 3.0 - 8.0 (just to give you an idea). Then I'll do weight training every other day. I use machines because I'm not really sure how to use much else. I do 3 sets of 15 reps of:

chest press @ 20lbs

leg press @ 120lbs

leg extension @ 50lbs

leg curl @ 50lbs

arm extension @ 40lbs

vertical traction @ 40lbs

In short: I feel like this is weak and it probably stinks.

Thinking primal, what can I change? I feel like I am not seeing much fat loss.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if this was newb-ish. I've been browsing the site all night.

Oh by the way, I am female.

wug
    wug is offline Junior Member

I'm not really the exercise guru of these forums, but my first impression was that it appears to be all isolation exercises.

The PB advocates full body exercise/movements. A lot of this can be done with your own body weight. There are a lot of posts, with examples and/or videos, etc on this.

Personally I don't really do any of those exercises. Maybe try switching them.

First thing I see is, instead of chest presses, do push-ups. Instead of all those legs machines, do some lunges and squats (with some hand weights or a bar if you feel up to it.)