Thread: Introduction: Jayant S page

Jayant S is offline Junior Member

Introduction: Jayant S

Hello everyone!

I am 46, male, based in Pune, India. I work as an automobile designer in an interesting but sometimes stressful workplace.

I started trawling through online health and fitness resources about 20 months ago, after finding that a desk job and poorly controlled eating had resulted in my weight expanding to nearly 200 pounds, for a height of 5' 6", and mildly elevated blood pressure.

Sure, there was a lot of the standard health advice - saturated fat is bad for you, eat a carb-based diet (most food across regions in India is seriously carb-heavy anyway). I chose to avoid sugar, eat more fish and add weekend hill hikes, daily walking and some bicycle commuting to my routine. I didn't ever get into the chronic-cardio-treadmill-gerbil paradigm; even the thought was depressingly boring. I didn't make any attempts to give up grains then - though most of those carbs came from rice. Also, I didn't deliberately avoid omega-6 intake (this can be alarmingly high in India, what with the intense media promotion given to safflower and sunflower oils for being "heart healthy").

I did run into the MDA site at that time, and found it to be a very competently-written blog, but the food suggestions, then, seemed a little - er - dangerously radical. After all, didn't all the "experts" say - avoid saturated fat?

In one year, I managed to drop over 20 pounds of belly fat. Then, in August 2011, I realised I had plataeued, and was at the risk of gaining it all back again. While I had achieved what I thought were decent levels of fitness and activity, there was always a background fear that, yes, I could lose all that and become seriously overweight again despite the consistent exercise.