Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Endurance Athlete Needs Help with Weight Loss + Recovery page

jfoster is offline Junior Member

Endurance Athlete Needs Help with Weight Loss + Recovery

Primal Fuel
    Hello! This is my first time posting and I'm looking for some help from all you awesome MDA people I am an endurance athlete (swimmer) who has recently begun to eat primally. (is that even how you would describe it??) I know for athletes it is important to get some good carbs into your diet for recovery and I have been getting those from yams, as well as a recovery drink (Endurox). I know it's only been a week, but I'm wondering if even though I'm eating carbs and not exercising the Grok-approved way, will I still be able to reduce body fat? I've read so many success stories from people (and seen the awesome pictures!) but no one was really in my position, so I'm wondering if I'll have any similar results. Thanks in advance for your help!

RunBikeLift is offline Member
    I'm interested in this, also! I will start marathon training in January and will be curious to how eating Primal will affect my endurance/energy levels during long runs.

I've been eating Primal for about 3 weeks now and seeing slow fast loss, and still able to keep up my exercise routine (running, spinning, mountain biking, Crossfit workouts, some treadmill sprints)

As for my carbs, besides vegetables- I eat sweet potatoes and Larabars

I'm trying my best this week to cut out dairy to see if that helps quicken fat loss
    Overweight athlete going PRIMAL

11/4/11
    SW: 228lb
    GW: 160lb by August 2012

11/24/11- 222
    12/30/11- 229
    1/7/12- 225
    1/17/12 (2 weeks into Whole30)- 218
    5/15/12- 218 (Need motivation to eat a clean Primal diet!!)

Karma is offline Senior Member
    USE the search function on the forum main page. Many, many posts to help answer your questions are up already with a lot of good ideas and success stories.

js290 is offline Senior Member