Thread: Carb dilemma page

Kristjan Guest

Shop Now

I've been paleo for a few months now, took a little break at christmas but I've been 100% clean since january 1st. I never cheat on my diet.

That being said, I don't fare well on low carbs. I've noticed that when I eat a few pieces of fruit every day I feel much better and have much more energy.

If I go low on carbs (well under 100g/day) I feel perfectly fine, but I sleep badly and I don't feel as smart. As I am a university student, my goals are:

1. Best possible mental fitness

2. Best possible mental fitness

3. Optimal health

My dilemma is, that I don't like eating fruit, I don't digest them very well and I believe fructose is something to avoid.

I've been eating organic potatoes for a few days, with the skin, with most meals, and I've felt truly awesome.

I don't really care about the "evolutionary factor" in all this, I go by how I feel and boy do I feel much better when I keep my carb up to about 150-200g per day.

To me starch seems to be a much much better option for carbs than fructose and I haven't seen any proof for why the starch in potatoes would be unhealthy.

Just thought I'd share my thoughts on this, if anyone here doesn't feel well on low-carbs and isn't insulin resistant or desperately needs to lose weight, potatoes are good source of healthy carbs.

mhoward is offline Member

kristjan, others would agree with you. Look at the 'primal wisdom' blog, who argues that humans have been eating starchy root vegetables for X-number thousands of years.

i also consume potatoes, starchy root vegetables, and include raw honey. i am not trying to lose weight and this seems to work great for me.