Thread: Primal Journal (SMMcP) page

SMMcP is offline Junior Member

Primal Journal (SMMcP)

11/25/2011
    I am a 60 year old, obese woman with type II diabetes, hypothyroidism , and arthritis. I work full time as an emergency department charge nurse. I’m starting this journey because I want to lose weight, optimize my health and improve my function so I can do the things I enjoy doing. I’ve been primal now for nearly 3 weeks (except for yesterday, Thanksgiving). Already I feel much better and have lost a couple of pounds. I’m hoping this journal will help me and maybe down the line help a few others too.

SW – 234 lbs BF – 49% BMI – 36.6
    CW – 232 lbs BF – 47.8% BMI – 36.3
    GW - 126lbs BMI – 19.7

Although a goal weight of 126 lbs seems very ambitious, I chose it for two reasons. One, it was the normal weight I maintained effortlessly in my early twenties, before I began working as a nurse (resulting in increased stress levels), keeping odd hours and eating junk. Two, it would put me below a BMI of 20 and according to Dr. Kruse a BMI of 20 is where you begin to see problems with leptin signaling. Remember I am going for optimal here so there is no sense in holding back.

I would like to accomplish my goal weight by the time a turn 62, which is 17 months away. This seems like a reasonable timeframe to me.

Today’s food:
    B (0700) bacon, eggs scrambled in CO, coffee with heavy cream, 4 olives, 3 fresh cranberries.
    L (1205) turkey, large salad of romaine, cucumber, celery, tomato, red pepper, a little feta, olives, 2 T. olive oil, red wine vinegar, thyme.
    D (1800) roast beef,cilantro pesto, broccolini brussel sprouts, ½ avocado

12/04/11

SW – 234 lbs BF – 49% BMI – 36.6
    CW – 229.8 lbs BF – 47.1% BMI – 36.0
    GW – 126 lbs BMI – 19.7

Yesterday’s food:
    B (0530) bacon, scrambled eggs, coffee with heavy cream
    L (1145) large Greek salad with crab meat, iced tea