Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Single Guy Shopping Tips page

tjihnot is offline Junior Member

Single Guy Shopping Tips

Primal Fuel
    Im very new to this and need some help. Im a single guy and its tough shopping for one. Any tips for me? I always end up with too much food. Help!

bloodorchid is online now Senior Member
    you could write a meal plan for the week, you could buy enough food for several days then go shopping again after that
    beautiful
    yeah you are

I mean there's so many ants in my eyes! And there are so many TVs, microwaves, radios... I think, I can't, I'm not 100% sure what we have here in stock.. I don't know because I can't see anything! Our prices, I hope, aren't too low!

Quote Originally Posted by bloodorchid View Post
    you could write a meal plan for the week, you could buy enough food for several days then go shopping again after that
    I guess my concern is more about portionsand leftovers. Any suggestions on meal combinations so I don't waste too much food or money. What can I cook Monday and use for breakfast and lunch Tuesday. Plus some of the ingredients might be useful for Tuesday night and Wednesday.

I appreciate any and all tips. Thanks!

TigerLily is offline Senior Member
    Hopefully you can learn from my mistakes:

- My advice is to shop 2 times per week, not only once. There's no way you can make your way through all that produce without it going bad on you otherwise.
    - Every Sunday afternoon, make up a big pot of soup or curry or "garbage stirfry" with whatever needs to be used up in the fridge. Freeze in single-serve containers for those times when you are lazy/busy/broke.
    - When I make up a recipe, I automatically set some aside and freeze. I get sick of eating the same thing for lunch and dinner 4 days in a row. (Or, if it's something that I know isn't going to freeze well (e.g., mushrooms), I will just halve the recipe.)
    Last edited by TigerLily; 11-23-2011 at 11:13 PM.