Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: what to eat post workout?!? page

alovice is offline Junior Member

what to eat post workout?!?

Primal Fuel
    Ok, so I'm new to this "primal" thing and I'm really trying to stick with it to the best that my willpower, and my budget (college student), will allow. I've heard so many different and conflicting ideas about what a good post-workout meal is supposed to contain. I've heard that sugar (even from fruit) is bad directly after a workout because it stunts HGH release. And I've been thinking that carb-loading to replenish glycogen was the right thing to do, but after reading some of the book, I'm beginning to question that. I'm confused! Any ideas of post-workout meal/drink should contain?

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    Unless you are pretty serious, it matters little.

What constitutes a workout for you, and how do you feel afterwards?

muaythaimike is offline Senior Member
    Post workout go low fat, high carb and moderate protein asap after your workout ends. You need carbohydrates to fuel your workout and help you recover. As long as they are from a good source I wouldn't fret about it. Your testosterone to cortisol ratio is pretty important, so eating some carbs post workout is a winner.
    "My mom made two dishes: Take it or Leave it." -- Stephen Wright, comedian

Chochobo is offline Senior Member
    u dont have to eat right after ur workout, after i do lifting i eat about a hour after. let the HGH ride thru. but yes low fat-high carb. i would suggest some white starches, ppl say sweet potato but u need a higher GI food for the benefit of glycon replenishment.
    "Our doubts are traitors, and make us lose the good we often might win, by fearing to attempt." -- William Shakespeare

my weight loss story...
    started @400+pounds
    CW: 191lbs 15%BF
    PB: 158lbs 10%BF 33in waist
    UD2(6 weeks): 168lbs 9%BF 31in waist
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread39123.html

Apex,