Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tips for Starting Yoga page

SerialSinner is offline Senior Member

Primal Fuel

I am currently under a lot of stress and I think it's starting to tax my health, so I believe it's time to experiment with Yoga or meditation.

On a prior post, 62Shelby recommended Pranayama, and I have been looking into it.

Does anyone have any more tips or advice for a complete beginner? I have never done this before.

I have found a lot of types of Yoga, but am looking for something simple and effective which I can do in my apartment and on my own. Is Pranayama alone the best way to start? Should I combine it with something else?

“Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.” -Oscar Wilde
    "The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it." -George Bernard Shaw
    "The trouble with jogging is that the ice falls out of your glass." -Martin Mull

lakina is offline Junior Member

Dashama has these great FREE videos on her youtube channel (I don't agree with some of her food recommendations, but the yoga videos are great). I think these two videos are a great start...

Sun Salutations

http://www.youtube.com/dashama#uploads/22/a23CnVIURmY

Yoga for Bedtime-to help you sleep

http://www.youtube.com/dashama#uploads/5/McjCrIQ5GCw

She's got lots of other videos as well, but for me at least these were great to start getting into yoga without making a big investment in videos/classes.

Suz Guest

@SerialSinner: I have tons to say on this topic as I used to participate in Hot Yoga frequently. Although, I'm not sure if this is where you want to begin as most people have problems with heat.

When I first heard about Hot Yoga, or otherwise known as Bikram Yoga, I was hesitant because I wasn't sure if I was able to handle the heat. Essentially Hot Yoga is where you practice a series of 26 yoga poses in a heated room, usually at 105 degrees.