Thread: Confused about fats? How much, too much? page

beckinwolf is offline Member

Primal Fuel

I used to do the Zone diet, so I'm used to structure and macro-nutrients. I know that Mark recommends under 100g of carbs for the "sweet spot", that's been fairly easy to follow. I also understand the protein requirement. Right now, mine is from 82-118g depending on activity level. I generally try to keep it around 100g. My confusion comes from fat. I'm confused on how much to eat. I used to just use olive oil for everything, and small amounts, like 1 tsp. here and there. But now the PB talks about using lots of fat, but how much? I feel like I've been going overboard a bit, but I'm not really sure. On FitDay, my average fat grams has been 120g. Overall, I've been averaging 1900 calories. I do a lot of low-level cardio, 45 minutes a day usually, and 2 days a week I do either weights or sprinting. I just barely started with the sprinting, since I've never done that before. It's all new really. Just trying to figure it all out. Then I read posts about nuts being bad and nut butters being bad, or counter-intuitive to weight loss. It's frustrating, since I thought fat was great, but its not really? So too much of a good thing maybe?

Carpe Diem!

dfast is offline Member

Have you read these?:

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/definitive-guide-primal-blueprint/

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/definitive-guide-to-the-primal-eating-plan/

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/fats/

JamieBelle is offline Member

I'm not sure how tall you are or how much you weigh.

The formula is like this:

You start with carbs and protein grams and multiply each times 4. Then you subtract that number from the overall number of calories you want to consume in a day, remembering that you DO need a caloric deficit to lose weight. The resulting number is the calories you'd consume from fat, which you'd divide by 9 to get the number of grams per day.