Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Climber training and PBF page

mkowske is offline Junior Member

Climber training and PBF

Primal Fuel
    Hello!

I am new to the whole primal blueprint thing, but am loving it so far. So far I have only transformed my diet and now want to practice fitness the PB way, but am concerned about how to go about this...

I am a climber and I climb often. During the winter months I will be in the climbing gym on average 4 times per week for 2 hours each. As a mid 5.11 climber right now I have a goal to be climbing 5.12s by spring. I do intense back to back boulder problems, endurance route climbing, hang board stuff, etc etc... after reading PBF I'm wondering how I can continue to train (and get maximal gains) but also adapt to the PBF way. Do any other climbers have experience with this? Do the same principles apply to climbing where there are some very specific muscle groups that need to be targeted? Should I expect to make MORE gains if I only climb 2x a week? Has anyone else changed their training based on primal fitness techniques?

Advice appreciated! Thanks!

jakey is offline Senior Member
    i'm not sure what your concern is, specifically... i don't think that climbing counts as 'chronic cardio.' if you do it because you love it, and you're not rocking a 160 bpm heart rate, you're doing fine.

are you concerned about nutrition supporting this activity? if you're really low-carb adapted, you should be set. but feel free to add in some starch as many here do. i don't, but that's me (and i'm very active).

when you talk about gains & recovery time... you sound like you're doing this for muscle building, almost like a bodybuilding thing. do you mean gains in terms of your ability to climb, or in terms of your ability to build muscle? building muscle requires lots of recovery time, and lots of time, period.