Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Attempting Lean Gains, recovery trouble page

activia is offline Senior Member

Attempting Lean Gains, recovery trouble

Hi All,

So I'm about at 25% body fat and trying to get down around 20%. I've been eating prmal for 6 months, IF, cutting out fruit, no nuts, and almost no dairy but I was stuck at a 2 month plateau dispite my efforts and dispite a calorie deficit on top of it. So I wanted to shake it up and try the lean gains approach. I've increased my carbs/lowered fat on lifting days and eat normal primal which for me is 50-60% fat, 30% protein, 15% fat.. around 100g of protein, 80g of fat, 50g of carbs(fiburous veggies).. on lifting days I'm doing 120g of protein, 30g of fat, 140g of carbs (all starchy rice/sweet potato/banana/berries). I had trouble getting more carbs in without adding fat.. so I was still in a little bit of a calorie deficit. I'm fasting 14-16 hours everyday. I'm lifting heavy, as heavy as I can for 5 reps, 3 sets or pullups/chinups/deadlifts/bench press. But my recovery is suffering... and I haven't lost any weight yet on top of it (only on week 2). The more I use my legs the more tired I get. I'm crashing pretty hard. I'm on day 3 of recovery from my last lifting session. Yesterday I crashed so hard after I ate all the fruit in the house (1 grapefruit, 1 cup of berries with whey protein) and was still tired I had 3 tbls of splenda brown sugar (I know I know) but it worked I had energy again, and not a sugar high either. Today I'm feeling tired again. I'm suffering also with the rice during my refeeds, it's making me bloated/gassy. . I've only had 2 lifting sessions so far! 4 days rest in between them. I'm not sure what I should do..up my carb intake during recovery? Skip the fasting while my body adjusts? I'm sure its going to get easier, I think I'm shocking my body right now as I havent lifted heavy in awhile. I wish I was at least seeing weight loss thru all this suffering!