Thread: What should carb intake be for half-marathon training? page

Luckylis is offline Junior Member

What should carb intake be for half-marathon training?

Primal Fuel
    30 year-old female, 135 lbs, and I will start training for my 3rd half-marathon next week. I'm new to Paleo/Primal so this will be my first training period eating this way. I've got 2 questions: 1) what should my carb intake be for half-marathon training, and 2) what Primal fuel do you recommend I carry on my long runs?

As far as what my training plan will look like: 4 runs a week, mixed up of short sprints, a moderate run, and 1 longer run, each week.

Abu Reena is offline Senior Member
    Low Carbohydrate Training

and these guys do ultras.

Thor Falk is offline Senior Member
    I'd caution against running a half-marathon the low-carb style (I'd probably also caution against running your 3rd half-marathon for that matter - you have shown that you can do it, so now you could train for something more useful, but this is a different story...) if your metabolism is currently set for carbs.

I'd go with P2.0 carbs though - yams, (sweet) potatoes, rice - during the training. For the run I would use whatever people use (glucose gels or whatever this is) and wouldnt worry too much about my insulin response when running....

Althaur is offline Senior Member
    I have run 2 half marathons low-carb. The first was on probably fewer than 50 grams of carbs per day. I just stuck with the normal way I eat. Meat, veggies and fruits as a treat. The night before I ate about a pound of roast beef. Had about 6 whole macadamia nuts the morning of the run. That's it. Did fine. My last half was with a 35 lbs rucksack. You don't need all the extra carbs in my experience.

Thor, why would you recommend against running it low-carb?

Forever Young is offline Senior Member