Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ab work = bloating? page

MaceyK is offline Junior Member

ab work = bloating?

Primal Fuel
    I gave birth 7 weeks ago and have been cleared by my Dr to workout again. I had a c section so I have been taking it easy. I will only do about 25 crunches at a time. But after any ab work (not just crunches) my tummy gets really bloated. Has anyone else have this happen? I hate working out and then looking like I am 4 months pregnant afterwards. To say the least, it is really discouraging!

dado Guest
    yo won't bloat

Chochobo is offline Senior Member
    dont need to do crunches to workout abs just do core exercises. seems like to me after c section 7 weeks in not that long for recovery, but im no doctor. maybe start with planks, do some light kettlebell workouts, ive even done pilates(freakin brutal IMO). just engaging ur stomach muscle is a workout, so tighten ur abs muscles every once in awhile for like 20secs every hour if u want.
    "Our doubts are traitors, and make us lose the good we often might win, by fearing to attempt." -- William Shakespeare

my weight loss story...
    started @400+pounds
    CW: 191lbs 15%BF
    PB: 158lbs 10%BF 33in waist
    UD2(6 weeks): 168lbs 9%BF 31in waist
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread39123.html

Coach Palfrey is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by MaceyK View Post
    I gave birth 7 weeks ago and have been cleared by my Dr to workout again. I had a c section so I have been taking it easy. I will only do about 25 crunches at a time. But after any ab work (not just crunches) my tummy gets really bloated. Has anyone else have this happen? I hate working out and then looking like I am 4 months pregnant afterwards. To say the least, it is really discouraging!
    Crunches after a c-section aren't a great idea - you'll need exercises like planks rather than exercises that shorten the rectus abdominis

jakey is offline Senior Member