Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: would you see a chiripractor? page

invisible is offline Junior Member

would you see a chiripractor?

Primal Fuel
    I've had intense neck and shoulder pain and headaches for years. It has always felt like the pain originated in the neck and then radiated out to the head and shoulders. Doctors have been less than helpful over the years - for various reasons I guess. One reason is that I have a 40 degree curve in my lower spine so they jump to the conclusion the pain is related to that and say there's nothing that can be done about it.

Then about a year ago a doctor ordered xrays of my back and neck - it was all very strange because she looked at my xrays for a while muttering "hmmm, interesting" but never measured the cobb angle. She handed the xrays back to me and said something (I thought) about a lack of lumbar curve (I may have misunderstood) but said everything was fine and no action needed. Today I stumbled across the xrays again whilst cleaning up and noticed something very odd about the xrays of my neck. My neck in the xrays is so straight (from both left and right side) that you can pretty much run a ruler straight up through the middle of all the vertebrae.

I got online and looked up a neutral neck position and looked into straight neck and it turns out this is called "military neck" and is a form of cervical kyphosis - if the information is accurate. I'm sitting here confused wondering why the doctor didn't think it might be contributing to my neck pain. Now I'm wondering if I should pursue "correction" of this condition. And I'm wondering firstly if chiropractors are/can be safe in treating this sort of condition? And secondly, has anyone else had this condition, had it treated and experienced pain relief?

JoPaleo is offline Senior Member
    A really good chiro is safe. Emphasis on the "good". They will assess you and determine what needs to be adjusted. Ask people in your area who they recommend.