Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Silly newbie asking silly question. Why am I so tired? page

LucieLuxe is offline Junior Member

Silly newbie asking silly question. Why am I so tired?

Primal Fuel
    Hi there primal play-pals!
    I've been dabbling in primal living for the last two months (I'd say about 90% compliant diet-wise with the occasional "ohmygodIgottaeatthischeesecake!!!" moment of weakness.
    I've never eaten poorly per se, just typical low fat, lots of protein, oatmeal every morning blahblahblah. I've always hovered around 125 (I'm 5'4.5) and have always been very fit (4 mile trail runs/hikes daily).
    All this has fallen off sharply now that I've "gone paleo", I find that I barely have the energy to get through my work day let alone a grueling post-work hike with the dogs.
    What gives?
    Typical breakfast - black espresso, some bacon (5-6 pieces) if I feel like it.
    Lunch- some sort of veggies cooked in olive or coconut oil (cauliflower, broccoli, spinach etc) with some meat (today it was 3 chicken thighs)
    Snack- grapefruit
    Dinner- more meat and veggies, sometimes a few nuts (8?) to tide me over.
    I eat till I'm full and never let myself get hungry (I'm working on this...) but my energy has really plummeted. I know that not exercising is sort of a vicious cycle, but trail running is something that used to be the absolute high point of my day, now I can barely force myself to do it. I'm lethargic, my dogs are pissed. Help!
    Any suggestions oh great all-knowing paleo-peeps?
    Oh, and in this time my weight is up to 132lbs and I'm for sure "squishier", likely due to my total inability to do anything athletic besides run around a hospital all day at work.
    Last edited by LucieLuxe; 11-03-2011 at 08:35 PM.

Paleobird Guest
    This sounds like it could be a classic case of the Carb Flu. There are several threads about it here. An archive search will get you started.