Thread: Just stopping by to say hello page

intreker05 is offline Junior Member

Just stopping by to say hello

Hey,
    I'm never very good at these introduction threads. It makes me feel like I'm back in high school and it's the first day of class and we're going around and I'm supposed to tell you my name, favorite color, and favorite snack food or something like that. Anyway, feel free to call me Trek (No, I'm not a trekie. Trekking = backpacking). I'm relatively new to Primal, but I love the idea. This is the lifestyle I've been looking for. I've tried to be the endurance runner, the extreme athlete, the beast. Instead, I ended up with multiple injuries and having to force myself into working out. New Years of this year, I met an amazing woman. We spent time together, we fell in love, we stopped eating healthy, enjoyed the honeymoon phase of life, and now I'm about 25lbs heavier than I was when I graduated college in 2009. Neither of us were happy about it. But other diets are so restrictive and we wanted to be able to have fun, not worry about counting calories or points or having to restrict portion sizes so that you're always hungry. My girlfriend and I batted around the ideas for a while. I'm the reader and planner and micromanager so I read everything and relayed it to her. Finally, she said those magic words "Want to give it a try?"
    We started the 21 day challege on Monday, then had to deviate a little on Tuesday after she was in a car accident and we had to spend the day at the hospital. However, we're back on track, she's feeling good, and I've already lost 8lbs since the last time I weighed myself a couple weeks ago.