Thread: How do I get enough nutrition on an elimination diet?? page

Mell is offline Member

Question How do I get enough nutrition on an elimination diet??

Shop Now
    I am fairly new to the primal way of eating, but have already had positive results from cutting out all grains from my diet. For the last six months I have struggled with stomach problems(bloating, constant discomfort, constipation, and sometimes pain). I looked about 5 months pregnant all the time, until I cut out all grains, and my enlarged stomach and most of the other symptoms subsided. However, I noticed that my morning breakfasts of eggs have started to sit very heavy for hours after eating, and sometimes other meals have made me feel the same way. I have also noticed respiratory symptoms flaring up at the same time. I suspect a leaky gut may be the cause, as I struggle with acne too, so I want to go on an elimination diet to help fix it if that's the problem, and also try to figure out what foods my body is sensitive to. Grains, especially corn, cause me problems for sure so they won't be hard to cut out. I suspect dairy, eggs, and some nuts as well. I should probably eliminate nightshades for a while too.

So my question is, can I get enough calories and nutrients from other foods? If so then what kind of foods should I eat, and when should I reintroduce suspect foods back into my diet?

tradawg is offline Senior Member
    You can definitely get enough nutrients/calories when cutting out dairy, eggs and nuts. As for what you can eat: meat, veggies, fruit, and healthy fats to cook with. I would keep them out of your diet for a good month and then add them back one at a time. Every two-three weeks add one more back in and look for any symptoms. An easier way might be to do a coca pulse test with each food.
    $5 off iherb.com: QOC241

"Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good." - Voltaire

For nutrition/wellness tips:

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/One...34671179916624