Thread: Primal Food Questions page

drewmeister is offline Junior Member

Primal Food Questions

Primal Fuel
    Hello,
    I am just getting into this primal/paleo type of lifestyle. In my studying on the net I have found conflicting information regarding foods that are good and foods to avoid.

Some call for high fat meats while others call for lean meats?
    Some say dairy is good but others say it should be avoided?
    Some say potatoes are fine others say they are bad?
    Is choco a bean or a seed?
    Is stevia just a sugar substitute or is it allowed because it is a plant?

Any help would be appreciated.

Shanster is offline Senior Member
    Hey - welcome to the primal side! grin.

Paleo is more "strict" than primal... most paleo avoid dairy and strict primals avoid dairy. (It's sort of like religion... strict Catholics vs. Catholics that only go to church on Christmas....) If you have issues with dairy or you are lactose intolerant you should avoid it.... I still eat dairy. Not primarily and it's not a main part of my meals but I eat it and don't worry about it... milk in my coffee every day and today had cheese sprinkled on my omelette.

Potatoes are higher carb and not as nutritious as other tubers like parsnips, rutabagas, turnips, sweet potatoes... they are o.k. in moderation. Tho I haven't missed them at all and don't eat them as there are so many other options....

Dunno which choco is... I have 72% or higher dark chocolate as an indulge when I need a sweet fix... and I have 1 - 2 squares of it and my sweet tooth is fixed. Not sure it matters if it's a seed or a bean if you are using it sparingly as an occasional treat.

Dunno about stevia... I was using a tsp. of honey in my coffee and weaned myself off... in Mark's book it says he uses a pinch of sugar in his coffee each day so ...? If I'm going to use sweetner, I personally prefer to use "real" sugar or honey. I rarely use it or need it.