Thread: Lifting Plan page

adamm is offline Senior Member

Question Lifting Plan

Primal Fuel
    OK, so I've been doing the Super Slow type workouts for 3 months, and I have to admit that while I've made some strength gains, I don't think it is working the way it should have. After a couple of posts on the forum, I went back and started checking the math. IE muscle mass gained, strength increases, etc, and I've come to the conclusion that super slow exercises don't seem to "do it" for me. So I'm going back to conventional LHT. I was hoping y'all could take a look at my plan. It is based upon a twice a week workout. First workout is more iron, second workout is more bodyweight. If y'all have concerns with that approach, let me know.

Day 1:

• Squats: 3 x 5
    • Deadlifts: 3 x 5

• Bench Press: 3 x 5
    • Barbell Row: 3 x 5

• Arm Curls: 3 x 5
    • Triceps Dips: 3 x failure

• Front dumbbell raise: 3 x 6
    • Front Plank: 2 x death
    • Side dumbbell raise: 3 x 6
    • Exercise ball crunches: 2 x 20
    • Shoulder Press: 3 x 6
    • Side Plank: 2 x 30 seconds each

Day 2:

• Squats: 3 x 5
    • Deadlifts: 3 x 5

• Pullups/Chin ups: 3 x 5 (or failure)
    • Pushups: 3 x 20 (or failure)

• Arm Curls: 3 x 5
    • Triceps Dips: 3 x failure

• Front dumbbell raise: 3 x 6
    • Front Plank: 2 x death
    • Side dumbbell raise: 3 x 6
    • Exercise ball crunches: 2 x 20
    • Shoulder Press: 3 x 6
    • Side Plank: 2 x 30 seconds each

Yesterday, for the heck of it, I did a full body workout with all of the above exercises combined. IE pushups + bench press, etc. I figured that might be a bit much, so that is why I'm breaking it up into two sessions a week.

I am, as y'all might see, heavily emphasizing shoulders, but I feel that historically I have under emphasized them, and also that they are almost as important as the back for training.

Please, feedback needed/welcome.

--Me

EDIT: corrected verbage for front plank
    Last edited by adamm; 10-28-2011 at 08:14 AM.