Thread: Carbs and distance running page

aimlow is offline Senior Member

Carbs and distance running

Distance runners: I need to eat at about mile 5 then every 3 or so after on my long runs. Any suggestions on what I should be eating? I am used to shot blocks, and gels.

Also, do you "carb up" the night before?

Finally- what do you find you need your carb intake to be on a daily basis to train well?

iFreedom is offline Junior Member
    I'm new to primal but not long distance efforts, running bike, and swim. I don't think you need to carb up the night before unless if your doing a race and plan on going hard.

boil baby potatoes through in zip lock in jacket pocket and pop when you're getting hungry, i've done this and works well, but kind of a pain to prep. Hammer products are decent but lots of people have gotten by with gateriod on the run.

Daily carbs to train well? Sorry can't help much here, but generally, diet is the toughest component of any long distance training, but the web has loads of guidelines. Read enough and you'll start finding the common points.

Hope this (kindof) helps!

honeypig is offline Senior Member