Thread: Menu check please? page

Meggilizz is offline Senior Member

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting--I've been doing PB for about two weeks and wondering if you could check out my menu? I've been doing Crossfit since March, that's where I heard about Paleo/PB.

B: green monster made with spinach, almond or hemp milk, banana

S: apple and almonds

L: turkey burger, veggie soup

S: raw veggies, sunflower or pumpkin seeds

D: salmon & roast asparagus (with olive oil)

That's what I'm eating today & a very typical menu. Thanks for any tips!

"It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye."
    ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

annadragon is offline Junior Member

Welcome Megg

My first questions before my critique is how sated you feel eating this way? What are your portion sizes?

The basis for my question: I see very little fat on your menu. Personally, I might add some more. Add some hard boiled eggs to the snack menu. Dip your raw veggies in a homemade vinegarette or salad dressing. Encrust your salmon with a nutty pesto (mmmmm). Those are just suggestions off the top of my head.

Do you make your own veggie soup? You should post a recipe is so!

Thanks Anna! The lack of fat is exactly what I was concerned about. I've lost 40lbs since October 2007 doing Weight Watcher's Core plan which focuses on lean meats, non-fat dairy, whole grains, fruits & veggies. So I guess it's hard getting out of the low-fat mindset.

I did make my own soup, today it's curried purple potato zucchini spinach soup! Basically a bunch of veggies that were about to go bad made into a soup. I'm not sure about the purple potato, but I figure it's not SO bad because there is more nutrition in a purple potato than a white potato. And there's only one potato in the whole pot of soup (20+ servings?) I made this before I started PB and have it frozen in individual containers.