Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going Primal over 50 .... Any hope for me? page

greentree2 is offline Junior Member

Going Primal over 50 .... Any hope for me?

Primal Fuel
    Greetings.

I've been dabbling in Primal lifestyle for about five years. While it's had a great result in my blood tests (LDL, HDL, glucose), and I've gained muscle, strength, and improved fitness, I've also gained 20 lbs of fat during this time. I have about 40 lbs of fat to lose.

Is this because I'm over 50 and female? Reading Mark's books and blogs, I see amazing stories of change after people go Primal, but these people seem to be all young: under 30 or 35, often in their twenties. I haven't found a single case study of a woman over 50 starting primal and losing more than a few pounds of fat.

There are two obvious explanations for this: 1. Primal works better in younger people. 2. Only younger people are doing Primal.

I'm now in Day 3 of stopping the dabbling and going Primal full-time. Question is: Is there any hope for me? I'm in perimenopause and also have low thyroid as a result of being treated for Graves disease and having my thyroid killed by radioactive iodine. I have to take replacement thyroid (Levoxyl) but my thyroid level is still below optimal level. My doc, who is pro-Primal, is trying to figure out why I'm not responding to the thyroid replacement drugs as I should.

Does anyone have any real experience in Primal success for women over 50 and/or for people with low thyroid? Is there any hope for me?

crackedpot is offline Member
    Hi & Welcome - Though I haven’t had to deal with the same issues you have I say never give up hope!! Making a step forward for health is always an A+. I'm 52; I started reading MDA the first of this year and joined in April. I've seen slow but sure changes, starting @ 168lbs - this morning I weighed in @ 150lbs – yeah