Thread: Omega 6:3 ratio clarified please!!!! page

trail chick is offline Junior Member

Omega 6:3 ratio clarified please!!!!

Shop Now
    Hi Mark,

Can you please write the definitive post on keeping your daily Omega 6:3 ratio balanced (and why) in a REALISTIC way? (I mean, I read all the forum posts and some suggest eating cow brains on a regular basis. Give me a nice liver any day, but brains are just not happening for me, thank you very much.) If you shouldn't just pop a fish oil tablet every day, why not?? And should you really be eliminating foods like almonds/chicken etc. that seem high in Omega 6s?? As a relative newbie, I would love your feedback on keeping the ratio in a reasonable range (4:1??) without obsessively striving for perfection, counting every fat gram, or eliminating perfectly good Primal foods just to get your ratio down. You know, the PB Way!! THANKS!!!!!

namelesswonder is offline Moderator
    I would like to see a guide to balancing the 6:3 ratio as well. I agree that it is very confusing to start keeping track of when it's not something I followed at all before. Sample meals/day or week to keep the ratio healthy would be awesome!
    Journal on depression/anxiety
    Currently trying to figure out WTF to eat (for IBS-C).

Sungrazer is offline Senior Member
    Check out Track your progress on the Paleo diet - PaleoTrack which gives you the opportunity to check your O6:O3 ratio. Have a play and see how much or little effect adding some vegetable oils have on the ratio. Try egg and bacon.

I've started eating way more fish since I found that tracker...
    Sometimes you need to be told the truth in order to be able to see it.

My journal

I see grain people...

Exist in shadow, drifting away.

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    I like the advice of Kurt Harris and Chris Kresser:

Archevore - Archevore Blog - There is No Such Thing as a Macronutrient Part I -*Fats

Quote Originally Posted by Kurt Harris