Thread: Leaving the land o' the lurkers page

Ancient is offline Member

Leaving the land o' the lurkers

Shop Now
    Hi, I've been lurking here, and researching Primal and Paleo for a few months. I work in the medical field and on a whim a few months ago tested my blood sugar while speaking with a patient about monitoring their blood glucose levels. I was surprised to see that I was at 115 5 hours after my last meal, which is getting pretty high for someone never diagnosed with diabetes. I knew I was getting pretty porky and was spending more time in my desk chair then anywhere else. I got a promotion 2 years ago, and as it turns out 2 years plus 80 lbs = pre diabetes.

Knowing that a LC diet can reverse pre-diabetes and even type 2 DM, I started doing my research. I didn't want to just go chicken breast and broccoli...that's not sustainable. I need to change my whole lifestyle. I don't have time to count carbs, and exercise for an hour a day like my Dr. suggested. What I do have time for is a few extra minutes of prepping and cooking in my daily meal times and about 3 to 4 hours a week of doing something fun and active with my 10 year old son.

I have not 100% committed to the Primal lifestyle yet. Not because I don't believe it will turn this sinking ship around, but because right now I am out in the middle of the ocean on a tiny Aleutian Island with little access to the kinds of protein I'll require, and even less access to fresh veg. I was at the grocery the other day and the brown head of lettuce, one of three in the store, was brown, slimey, and priced at $10.00. I have 10 more days here and the I fly to a relatively more populated area of the region with much more food choices and lower prices. One good thing I'm taking home with me though is free range organic reindeer meat.