Thread: Three weeks and counting! page

elainevdw is offline Senior Member

Thumbs up Three weeks and counting!

Primal Fuel
    I posted this on my SparkPeople blog and thought maybe I should post it here, too. My background is that I've been yo-yo dieting for the last 10 years or so, and this year I started developing gastrointestinal issues, and my mood (I've been prone to mild depression since I was a teenager) was tanking. I also got honest with myself and realized I had developed disordered eating patterns, though I wouldn't go so far as to say I had an eating disorder. I would describe me as a kid as "always hungry" no matter how much I ate. And boy did I have a sweet tooth. I'm 5'7", 28 years old, and started Primal at around 155lbs. Today I'm 148. (Three pounds of that was water weight, btw.)

I've been eating primal for three weeks. It's worked so well for me. Even the days when I've been stressed to the max and had a billion things to worry about outside of food, it's worked for me. It just kind of fits in with my lifestyle. Some days I eat more, some days I eat less. Some days I have a big breakfast, some days I don't have breakfast at all. Sometimes dinner is big and juicy, other times it's a light broth. As the weeks go by, my "cheats" become fewer and farther between. I can eat a couple hard boiled eggs and they actually take the edge off my hunger. If there isn't anything available to eat that's on my plan, I don't have to eat right away; I can just not eat until I get home, or order a big-ass salad from my new favorite restaurant. I've only had one day when I felt like I could eat anything in sight, and it was mostly because I had been too busy to cook all week and the store was out of my favorite brand of local eggs for some reason.