Thread: Advice on Primal / Leptin Reset / IF / Protein Shakes / My Lifestyle! page

CWayman is offline Junior Member

Advice on Primal / Leptin Reset / IF / Protein Shakes / My Lifestyle!

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to this whole Primal thing but I have to say I'm loving it and the community involved with it looks a vibrant and happy one! In a nut shell I went primal as I quit smoking 11 weeks ago and instead of spending money on cigarettes I've been spending money on a personal trainer. He mentioned Paleo and eventually I've come onto Primal and found this site. Currently I'm 162lbs and I have some definition, I'm not really looking at being Primal from a weight loss perspective but more a healthy mind / healthy body perspective and increased energy!

I've been doing a lot of reading and two things I would like to consider are IF and Leptin Reset. I've been having protein shakes in the morning and then another in the evening as a desert on none work out days (hmm chocolate shake!) or after a workout / badminton.

And over the last 3 weeks i've (unknowingly) met the criteria for Leptin reset:

Eat 50g of protein (little to no carbs) within 30 minutes of waking
    Limit carbs to 50g a day
    Eat 3 meals a day, no snacking especially past 7:30pm

The above is how i've gone about starting to be Primal, so it looks like I'm on course for being 'LS?'. I'm mainly getting my huge protein intake from a shake in the morning. What do people think about this? Is it a good way or should I try and get my protein from food instead? a shake gives me 40g and I have a few hard boiled eggs too.