Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 5k prep? page

Uppy is offline Member

5k prep?

I'm sure this has been covered before, but...I signed up with my brother and his wife to do a 15k relay style(we each do 5k). Looking for suggestions for preparation for this thing, mainly in terms of nutrition. Do I up my carbohydrate intake a bit for a couple days beforehand? How about race day? It's my first one.

Oh, and it's on Sunday

Goal is finishing under 30 minutes.

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Do regular primal. You don't need extra carbs for 30 minutes. Maybe have half a banana just before the race. Good luck.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

Uppy is offline Member
    Haha...good point - it is only 30 minutes. There I go, overthinking again!

kennelmom is offline Senior Member
    Yeah...nothing special needed for a 5K. Primal as usual.
    Heather and the hounds - Make a Fast Friend, Adopt a Greyhound!

dado Guest
    I recommend you go on a 40 hour fast right before the race, this will shed some extra weight off and you will be able to run faster.

Break your fast with a banana and 4 boiled eggs, 1 hour before the race.

Report back.

Goldsmith is offline Senior Member
    Unless you have significant experience with fasting and how your body reacts to it I would strongly recommend not doing that before your race.

For a 5k I wouldn't do anything special... just approach it like any other day.
    "Canned food is a perversion,' Ignatius said. 'I suspect that it is ultimately very damaging to the soul."
    - John Kennedy Toole (A Confederacy of Dunces)

dado Guest