Thread: Diminishing symptoms of a lifelong problem after 2 weeks primal! page

Primal Rick is offline Junior Member

Diminishing symptoms of a lifelong problem after 2 weeks primal!

Primal Fuel
    Hello all! I am new to primal and would like to share my experience thus far. I am 28 years old and as long as I can remember I have dealt with regurgitation of my food after eating that would last at least a couple hours accompanied by terrible acid reflux. I was never actually diagnosed, but as far as I can tell this is GERD. I remember, even at a very young age, my brothers and cousins telling me how bad my breath was, especially when I ate dairy. In late 2004 it was getting really bad and I decided to have an endoscopy done in January 2005. I was told that I had stage 1 esophagitis and if I did not get it taken care of it could possibly turn cancerous. Their solution was to cut my stomach loose and wrap it around my esophagus, creating an artificial valve. From then on I would have to avoid foods that either clump in the stomach or do not break up well with chewing. I decided to deal with it. I began drinking more water and trying to avoid foods which gave me the worst acid reflux. Of course, eating grains and sugars I have still continued to deal with this on a daily basis.

I am 5'11" and started primal at 237 pounds. I have been primal now for 2 weeks. I've lost 10 pounds and I feel amazing. Knee and back pains I have had for years are starting to go away and my energy levels stay constant. I started this because I was tired of feeling disgusted with myself and I wanted to get healthy. The biggest (welcomed) surprise of this for me has been the diminished symptoms of GERD. I have not had any acidic feeling in my throat since beginning and every day the regurgitation of my food is less severe. In fact I have eaten several meals now where I have had no regurgitation at all.