Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I give up my morning protein shakes? page

dianejaquay is offline Member

Should I give up my morning protein shakes?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I'm fairly new to MDA (less than a month), and have been eating primal for over a week now. I'm feeling fantastic and have been dropping pounds. My question is about using whey protein. I've been drinking coffee protein shakes for breakfast for several years now, and I want to figure out if I need to find an alternative to them. Since I started eating primal I've continued to make the shakes, but added a couple of free range eggs and either uncured bacon, sausage, or Canadian bacon to my breakfast routine. The fact is that I LOVE my shakes, I've never enjoyed hot drinks very much, and before I came up with the coffee protein shakes I was a frappuccinno fanatic. Before primal my shakes consisted of 1% milk, 2 spoons of instant coffee granules, cocoa powder, stevia, and 2 scoops of 100% whey protein powder. Since going primal I've switched the liquid to coconut milk. One of the reasons I love my coffee shakes is because of the energy boost I get from drinking them, but since I've been eating primal I seem to have tons of energy, so I think I could give up the coffee. However I do like getting the extra protein from the protein powder, that added to the eggs and meat brings me up to a nice level of protein that keeps me full until lunch or beyond.

I guess what I'm asking is if would be better to make some other kind of cold, blended drink to have along with my eggs and meat, rather than the protein shake. And if so, any suggestions of what?

I also want to mention how much I love this forum. I've used it over the past week to keep me motivated, particularly in the evenings. I was terrible about snacking at night, but now I read success stories on MDA instead

Diane

namelesswonder is offline Moderator