Thread: Joe's Journey page

Jokaman70 is offline Senior Member

Shop Now

I started out husky (high school football player) but by my freshmen year in college I had ballooned up to almost 360 LBS. I initially started out with the Atkin's Diet and lost about 30 LBS only to gain it all back when I started eating normally again. A few months later I started working out A LOT (weight training 5 days/week, cardio training 6 days/week). That level of activity in conjunction with a reduced calorie diet (2500 calories of whole wheat bread, brown rice, raisin bran, lean meats, and some fruits and vege's - the usual) I managed to drop 70 LBS over the summer and another 50 LBS over the course of the next year - this inspired me to change my major to Exercise Science. By the time I graduated I was a 230 LB lean, mean, fighting machine and I felt terrific.

Well, as is usually the case, I couldn't resist (I chose not to resist) the temptation of junk food. I gained 50 LBS seemingly overnight which shocked and depressed me. This sparked a 5 year binge-fest which ended with me weighing 385 LBS.

Fearing 400 LBS, and unwilling to apply for jobs in my Field at this weight, I read The Paleo Diet, Good Calories/Bad Calories, and Protein Power. I began eating more Paleo-like on December 30th, 2009. Within the first week I lost 12 LBS. At first I ate only lean meats, fruit (mostly as homemade juice), vege's, nuts, and olive oil. This past week I've stepped up the fat intake (bacon, canola oil, olive oil, heavy cream, hard cheese) and have reduced my carbs to less than 75g/day. I'm also drinking a lot of purified water (near 1 gallon/day) and some green tea w/ limited amounts of splenda too. I'm hoping to have lost more weight but the increased fat and dairy intake has me scared a little bit (for no good reason I'm sure) - I weigh in again on January 13th.