Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alternative to Coconut Oil page

Room13 is offline Junior Member

Alternative to Coconut Oil

Primal Fuel
    Hi all, I'm after a little primal help if anyone out there can offer it up...

I've been eating Primal for approximately 3 months now, very strict since the beginning of October. I'm a complete convert and can never see a valid reason for touching grains etc again.

Now I'm slowly working on my family (my wife and beautiful daughters of 9 and 12) by drip feeding primal processes into our cooking and then on down to meal choice etc. However, a stumbling block I have come across is the slight taste of coconut that gets left on certain foods...not a big winner with my wife and one of my daughters. Obviously butter is the next option, but not everything is good that way...stir frys etc...

As you may have guessed, I'm after some recommended options as an alternative to coconut oil...I personally love it and will stay with forever, but I need something as good primal alternative...

...if you can chuck in some reasoning behind it to enlighten my virgin primal mind it would be even more useful.

Thanks in advance...

SlimIcy is offline Senior Member
    Refined coconut oil has close to zero coconut taste, depending on the brand.

A lot of the fear of cooking with olive oil is overblown. As long as you're not cooking over 375 degrees for long periods of time, and you keep your oil stored properly so it doesn't oxidize, it's good for cooking.

Beef tallow or lard work great. Try to find grass-fed fat (I get organic pastured pig fat at the farmers market for $1.29/lb) and render it down yourself.

sarak is offline Junior Member