Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about long term low(er) carb diets and mood page

milkycereal is offline Senior Member

Question about long term low(er) carb diets and mood

Primal Fuel
    Whatsup guys. I noticed that when I go low carb my mood gets low too. I'm sensitive to depression and irritability so this bugs me.

But it's obvious to me that carbs definantly make me sleepy and hungrier much sooner compared to a high protien meal.

I'm willing to give it another shot and fight through the "Low carb flu". I'm going to be eating copious amounts of veggies and PWO starch after brazillian jui-jitsu and stuff.

I have some experience with IF and VLC, so it shouldn't be THAT tough for my body to learn how to adapt to burning more fat.

On non-workout days with all the veggies i can eat i'll still be around 70-80 grams of carbs which sounds good to me as i'm pretty active. Some of the veggies served at my dining hall seem to be coated in fat too (probably bad fats...but i'll deal with it for now till i get adpated) so i'll be able to increase my fat consumption easily.

I've got it all figured out how i'm gonna eat, i'm just worried about my overall mood. When I first tried to go primal I got extremly cranky and depressed.

I'm gonna be more flexible this time and eat some rice or potatos if I'm stressin too much, and I decided that to avoid any sugar binges i'll plan a "desert" meal for when I just can't avoid cookies anymore.

This meal will replace the last meal of the day and will be balanced (2 cookies and milk, for example, worked perfectly today at satisfying my craving). It'll be close to bed time so if anything some of that sugar will refill my glycogen stores and the blood sugar crash will knock me out at an OK time.

I know it sounds bad but these won't happen often. I know myself all too well and going cold turkey doesn't end well with me.