Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will I stop losing weight? page

polymurphism is offline Junior Member

Will I stop losing weight?

Primal Fuel
    Hi everyone,

I just switched to the primal blueprint a couple weeks ago.

I'm a 24 year old male.
    5' 10"
    and currently weigh 215 lbs.

It seems like I'm currently losing weight on an average of 2-3lbs a week. Which seems pretty good to me. I haven't had the chance to get into a primal workout routine but I plan on doing that soon.

Anyways, my question is will I stop losing weight at some point. I'd like to lose 20-40lbs (depending on how much muscle I gain). It seems like a dumb question but I'm still learning exactly how this works. Will my weight loss slow down at some point and eventually hit some sort of equilibrium? Or am I losing weight because I'm not eating enough and I will need to eat more to maintain my weight?

Thanks

iniQuity is offline Senior Member
    There are no dumb questions, except for this one.

If you don't at some point stop losing weight, you will die. Your body will reach a homeostasis (or equilibrium) and definitely stop losing weight. This "weight" may be above or below what you'd desire, and you can then make changes accordingly.

You're losing weight as a result of better eating habits (the science of which can be found on the book and on the site, so I won't go into it) and chances are you are also eating less (since you're not eating filler foods like breads or pastas that don't contribute to nutrition) so it's a bit of both. Once you reach your desired body composition you will know whether you need to eat more or less or stay at maintenance.

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by iniQuity View Post
    There are no dumb questions, except for this one.