Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Suggestions on working out while working a very physically active job? page

Jokaman70 is offline Senior Member

Suggestions on working out while working a very physically active job?

I just got a new job and it's a kick in the ass. I'm a truck driver and I deliver supplies to local Starbucks all over the state of Colorado. My day is 8-12 hours of moving heavy shit into and out of the truck. For example, I delivered over 500 gallons of milk tonight (each crate of 6 weighing about 50 pounds) and that's just part of what I do. I'm not really all that sore, but I do break a sweat each night and feel a full-body stiffness in the morning. Any suggestions on how to incorporate a weightlifting routine into a work schedule like this? I'm thinking that I can just eliminate ALL side/isolative work and just focus on the big-3 lifts and maybe a little HIT cardio.

Goals: general fitness/athleticism, maintain a relatively high level of strength, slow fat loss, hypertrophy.

Thoughts?
    Last edited by Jokaman70; 10-03-2011 at 05:13 AM.
    I began this Primal journey on December 30th, 2009 and in that time I've lost over 125 LBS.

dado Guest
    maybe you will not be able to train 3 times a week, but two times, and maybe only two exercises per session.

a man in your situation must be conservative with his training. you will still gain much strength but it will take you slightly longer time, and this is no problem.

primalTatoolover is offline Senior Member
    it really depends on your recovery period. the problem with your kind of job is the inconsistency you sit on your butt between runs and then poof you gotta do all this lifting and altho its great in the sense it mimics HIIT but constant lifting all day is messed up for ur back and sitting in a cramped truck just makes it worse...i would wholly suggest twice a week just murder yourself HIIT with something like ....
    day 1: Bench press 1 set to failure