Thread: Canned vegetables page

HeWhoIsAaron is offline Junior Member

Canned vegetables

Primal Fuel
    Hey guys. I'm a college student living off campus, so canned vegetables are a HUGE convenience for me. My standard dinner is to grill some kind of meat and mix with a canned or frozen vegetable side dish or a salad. But since I'm eating so much of it, I have to ask if canned vegetables have any sort of pertinent negative attribute. Obviously, they're canned and not the "real thing". But do I run the risk of getting sick or something if I keep eating so much of it? (Or does anyone have any suggestions to EASILY AND SIMPLY prepare vegetables?)

Thanks,
    Aaron

callherpetrol is offline Member
    im in the same boat as you (college student, off campus). i stick with frozen vegetables. they're just as convenient as canned, and i think they're healthier too. i stock up mainly on broccoli and organic chopped spinach

jsa23 is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by callherpetrol View Post
    im in the same boat as you (college student, off campus). i stick with frozen vegetables. they're just as convenient as canned, and i think they're healthier too. i stock up mainly on broccoli and organic chopped spinach
    Good suggestion.

To the OP - if you're worried about canned veggies absorbing something from the can, frozen vegetables are always an option. In generally it's mostly acidic things(like tomatoes) that you want to be careful of - in those cases you want to make sure the cans are BPA-free.

Persionally each week I buy a TON of frozen veggies - if you're careful which veggies you buy, you can probably get a week's worth of frozen vegetables for $20, possibly less. I keep a lot of them in my freezer so that I can quickly steam or stir-fry them when I need vegetables as part of a quick meal.