Thread: Does liver need to be grass-fed? page

Beefsister is offline Senior Member

Does liver need to be grass-fed?

Primal Fuel
    I know that liver is very healthy, though I've never tried it before. I only really have access to grain-fed, however. Should I still eat a lot of liver, even if it's conventionally raised, or would that make the liver too toxic? Liver is very lean, so I wasn't sure it mattered like it would if it were a fattier cut of meat.

Thanks for any help
    Remember, you are unique just like everybody else.

petriquor is offline Senior Member
    This is relevant to my interests. I've been wondering the same thing and have read conflicting things on the matter.

js290 is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefsister View Post
    I know that liver is very healthy, though I've never tried it before. I only really have access to grain-fed, however. Should I still eat a lot of liver, even if it's conventionally raised, or would that make the liver too toxic? Liver is very lean, so I wasn't sure it mattered like it would if it were a fattier cut of meat.
    Don't let perfect get in the way of good enough. While grass fed may be more optimal and preferred, somehow I doubt that's going to be the limiting factor towards improved health.

TigerLily is offline Senior Member
    I was just reading about this the other day irt chicken liver. Diane SanFelippo (Paleo nutritionist -- Balanced Bites | Holistic & Paleo Nutrition Coaching & Seminars | Paleo Nutritionist, Nutrition Coach, CrossFit Nutrition, Food Allergy, Allergies, Gluten Free, Dairy Free, IBS, IBD) says yes -- needs to be as "clean" as possible.

I'm certainly no expert, unlike Diane, but I personally will only eat grass-fed/free range liver. The liver is the body's filter. Lord only knows how nasty a CAFO liver is.
    "Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food." -- Hippocrates

beachrat is offline Senior Member
    Primal Blueprint Expert Certification