Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Protein Shakes page

HeWhoIsAaron is offline Junior Member

Protein Shakes

Primal Fuel
    Hey I'm a newbie at all this (I've been posting a bunch of questions the past few days) and I appreciate all the help and insight!

I've been perusing the forum and books and i've seen protein shakes come up now and then. Are these a viable option? Quick meal-to-go, snack, substitute? Or should they be avoided? If they're good to go, any good brands to recommend?

Thanks,

Aaron

MarkG is offline Junior Member
    hey there, Im new myself but Ive read the Primal Blueprint and Ive started on Robb Wolfe's book.

As I understand it protein shakes are ok, just make sure you check the ingredients are all paleo friendly. You can buy Mark Sisson direct from the site but frankly its expensive. I use Dymatize all natural protein, mix it with almond milk and coconut milk, its delicious! Awesome post or pre workout meal. If I need the extra fat I sometimes put half an avocado in and chuck it all in the blender. Man that hits the spot after an intense workout

dado Guest
    Yea, they're viable, but they're far from necessary. You'll go far with whole foods. No one needs supplements, maybe elite people do, but you're not elite, you're average if you're here, asking about protein shakes.

I used to do the protein shake, but then I became wise to happenings.

For example, most mornings I boil 6 to 8 eggs and just pop one or two whenever I remember. This way I never get sick of them and I get a ton of protein. Boom, what's 6 or 8 eggs, at 6 or 8 grams of protein per? That's a minimum of 36 and a max of 64 grams. Boom, that's like half your day of protein, then you eat a chicken breast, some nuts. That's it. Why waste money on protein shakes? Drink a glass of milk.

I drink milk post workout, no problem, down half a gallon. Your goals might be different, I'm just saying.