Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help! What am I doing wrong? page

balanced is offline Member

Help! What am I doing wrong?

Primal Fuel
    Have been primal for about 6 weeks and having hard time figuring out why I have gained about 3 lbs. I know this may sound trivial but when you are small framed to begin with every pound is noticable. So, I started entering my food intake on sparkspeople and noticed that I am getting 50% of my daily calorie intake from fat. Is this too much?? I eat eggs, avacado, salmon, beef, bison, nuts and tons of veggies; occassional greek yogurt (is this allowed?) some goat cheese or cheddar cheese daily, very little dairy, fruit and no sugar or grains. My daily calorie intake is approx 1500-1600. I am a fairly active 37 yr old mom of 3 young kids, I am a yoga and pilates instructor/personal trainer. I weight train 2x a week and have cut back on my cardio due to overuse injury. I swim, jump rope or do plyos as a sprint workout 1x a week. I get 7-9 hours of sleep daily. I am 5'3" and weigh 108lbs....I feel and function my best at 105ibs. Help!! What am I doing wrong?? Too much fat?? Not enough total calories? Do I need more carbs? Totally frustrated!!! Any insight and advice would be much appreciated!!

jimhensen is offline Senior Member
    What kind of diet were you eating before to maintain your weight?

jammies is offline Senior Member
    50% calories by fat is not too much. Nuts and dairy are considered prime suspects for impeding weight loss, so you may want to drop those for a while. Especially the cheese and nuts.

sakura_girl is offline Senior Member
    ...muscle gain from a sudden gain in protein consumption?

Knifegill is offline Senior Member