Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exercise to improve posture page

mike_nyc is offline Junior Member

Exercise to improve posture

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I have a desk job and I am typically sitting 10 hours a day. I think this has contributed to my bad posture and would like to try and work on correcting it. Can anyone share any exercises that could help. I am a male, 6' 1'' weigh about 180lbs and go to the gym 3 to 4 times a week. Been primal for close to 2 years now.

Thanks in advance.

Kenzington is offline Senior Member
    I'm no expert but I've found that classic deadlifts and stiff-leg deadlifts (and lifting HEAVY at that) have done wonders for my core and have straightened me up A LOT. Just my two cents. Take or leave at will.

MakeItSo is offline Member
    One thing that has greatly helped me with posture is stretching out my shoulders/pecs. Too much desk work gave me forward-hanging rolled/hunched shoulders, which will ruin most attempts at correctng one's posture.

To stretch it out, I lay on my back on the weight bench, spread my arms out to the sides as to make a T shape with my body, and then let my arms hang down for 5 minutes. It pulls kind of hard at first, but in a good way. Some numbness/tingling/discomfort (while doing the stretch) the first couple of weeks is totally normal!

I do the above stretch once a day, and along with other posture-reinforcing habits/sitting positions (check out 8 Steps to a Pain-Free Back by Esther Gokhale -- really awesome, and MDA recommended!), it's about 2 months later and I'm finally sitting comfortably.

A few other things that have probably contributed to my success (other than eating primally): a) doing beginner's yoga 3 times/week, and b) having an adjustable workstation that allows me to go between standing and sitting positions. That being said, I only spend a couple of hours a day in the standing position; the rest of it is planted on my ass.