Thread: back to work food bag! page

jomama is offline Junior Member

back to work food bag!

Ok... tomorrow marks the first real week of work... (i worked 3 days a week and a half ago.. i didn't have a food bag and struggled the whole time)... since may.. (i loved being a trophy wife all summer)(actually i had surgery on my feet.. but i pretended i was a trophy wife.. awesome!)... i have been eating 90% primal for 2 months and feel great.. and have made sure that my work uniform still fits... so now that i am headed back i have to completely rethink my food bag! (i am a flight attendant and arrange my schedule to work 6 on 8 off... so 6 days is a lot to plan and pack for)

here is an overview of my plan... please feel free to offer any suggestions especially on days 5 and 6 where i am struggling with keeping food fresh that long. Bear in mind that i don't necessarily have access to a grocery store and all my food is kept in a cooler that i pour ice over... (if you see a flight attendant walking through the airport with a rolling frigidaire that may be me... please say hi) we don't always have a fridge in our rooms nor a microwave... so i have to plan on not.

days 1-2: 3pm ish to 11pm ish shift
    Day one: (this is about a 20 hour day with commuting to work and then working my shift)
    fast until dinner then big cobb salad i will make at home and eat on plane
    little snack of italian dried salami and cheese

Day two:
    Egg salad i will make at home and eat in hotel
    snack before work: same as day one
    a primal meal i have frozen and vacuumed sealed (meat sauce poured over spaghetti squash) i will heat it up on the plane by soaking the bag in hot water. and a romaine salad that i will pack from home

Day three:
    same as day two (only sausage and grilled veggies)

days 4-6 are early morning shifts... so i will have about 6 hours actual sleep time between the shifts...

Day four:
    fast until dinner
    buy dinner at hotel... probably meat and salad