Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mike's Primal Journal page

Fletch666 is offline Senior Member

Mike's Primal Journal

Shop Now
    Hey Y'all.

A bit of background, I suppose.

I'm 5' 9 and 40 years old. I'm an audio engineer (for a living) and occasional science-fiction/fantasy writer (a hobby that sometimes makes me a few bucks). Both 'jobs' entail sitting on my ass for long periods of time.

A decade ago I was 230lbs. I lost the weight by going the chronic cardio route and got down to 170lbs by running 65k a week. I managed to stay there for several years. I felt good and drank and ate a lot. It seemed like heaven. And then...blammo...catastrophe. My left knee made it clear in no uncertain terms that it was unwilling to keep running such distances. In fact, it didn't want to run at all.

Of course the weight slowly crept back on and in a few years I was back up to 200lbs. I tried jogging again but my knees threatened all-out rebellion. At some point I discovered Sparkpeople and calorie counting and I managed to drop my weight back to 180lbs. I religiously weighed my food and counted calories for three years. At some point I figured I had learned what a 'reasonable' amount of food was and stopped weighing and counting. Obviously I was wrong and my weight crept back up to 200lbs.

In April of 2011 I discovered Atkins. More weighing food and calorie counting. I found the VLC diet to be extremely easy and kept my carb intake under 20 grams a day and within 5 months was back to 175lbs. But I knew something was missing. Atkins worked, but it didn't feel like the whole answer. I decided it was time to try and educate myself on diet. CW was obviously crap. If I ate anywhere near 50% carbs I got fat and fast.