Thread: Going Primal page

GrokJosh is offline Junior Member

Going Primal

Hello all,

I ran across this website through Google and was instantly intrigued. A brief background:

I've always been the overweight guy. Not morbidly obese, but definitely not skinny. The chubby guy I suppose. I was around 180 when i graduated high school ten years ago and somehow managed to slowly climb to 220 by the end of 2010.

I lost a brother last year when he was 29, which made me realize that life is short and I better get my butt in gear and turn things around. Since new years I have quit smoking, started a pretty strict low-calorie diet (around 1200-1500 per day), and started a strict workout regimen of what Mark would call "chronic cardio".

I am now sitting right around 180, and still not smoking, so I guess I should pretty darn happy with myself. I am, actually, but the problem is that I've been at 180 for about 3 months now and I can't get off the plateau. In fact, I found this website googling about plateaus and ran across one of the many blog posts that Mark has written about every topic under the sun. I got excited enough that I ran out and bought the PB book last night and am devouring it.

This afternoon I cleared out the cupboards and did some primal grocery shopping and I'm ready to go. I've done low carb diets before, so I'm not really worried. I don't get the carb flu that people talk about, if anything I get anxiety the same way that I used to get from cigarettes. I know that it will pass.

My goals: my ultimate goal is to get to around 160. Originally I wanted to be there by the end of the year, but I realize we are quickly running out of months so this may no longer be feasible. I am going to Costa Rica in five weeks, if I can get close to 170 by then I'll be pretty darn happy.