Thread: Resources for Learning Butchery page

Benpercent is offline Junior Member

Question Resources for Learning Butchery

Hello all. I might be getting quite ahead of myself in partaking in the community without an introduction thread, but as a brief intro: I'm a aspiring chef-to-be who went lacto-Paleo back in 2009 after reading most of *Good Calories, Bad Calories*, and it has brought numerous benefits to my life, including cleaner teeth, beautiful skin, a loss of about 20-30 pounds, and so on.

This lifestyle is also what has caused me to pursue a career in the culinary arts, as I never truly enjoyed food until I went Paleo; before then I was perpetually sick and made ill by what I ate, and even openly wished humans didn't have to eat to survive. My morning breakfast cereal, for instance, caused me to gag and nearly vomit given the amount I had to eat to feel satisfied. I'm never going back to the way I ate, though admit that I am a chocolate connoisseur who blogs reviews as a hobby (Capital Bean is my site).

Anyhow, dietarily I seem to perform best on a regiment in where the meat outportions the vegetables, though by all means I don't eat nothing but meat. (But have once before and felt fine.) Among another reason, which I might tell you of later, my ambition to become a chef has led me to the interest of performing my own butchery, as I'd like to specialize in meat dishes. And I mean TOTAL butchery: raising the animal on pasture, *slaughtering* it, skinning it, aging it, breaking it down, etc. In other words, I want to learn and become experienced at dealing with an animal from pasture to plate.

Ideally, I'd like to be able to find employment in this area, working with as wide of variety of animals as possible. Additionally, I'd like to learn more about the process with more hands-on requirements, minimizing, though not barring mechanical assistance.