Thread: about grains page

alef is offline Junior Member

about grains

Primal Fuel
    hello,
    i am new to this forum
    i have read that grains are not good for weight loss and fitness. can you please give me some information about the grain like seeds, such as pearl millet, amaranth, jowar, quinoa,sago seeds, corn, semolina, gram flour, etc..? is it ok to have these, instead of wheat, rice, oats,etc..which are strictly grains?
    thankyou
    alef

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Welcome Alef. Search the forum on each of those grains. Semolina is wheat, so you should avoid it and also corn. White rice is not so bad if you can handle the carbs. If you are trying to lose fat, you should avoid or go lightly on all of them.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

Glamorama is offline Senior Member
    Quinoa and chia can be tolerated if you don't have a lot of fat to lose. I would stay clear of the others.

Grizz is offline Banned
    Cardiologist Wm Davis says this about Non Wheat grains:
    Can I eat quinoa? Carb counting basics | Wheat Belly

Grizz

js290 is offline Senior Member

dragonmamma is offline Senior Member
    js290: You beat me! Here's the specific part of the interview that talks about this:

Fat Head: What about other grains, such as kamut, spelt, oats, amaranth, and buckwheat? Are they good for us, or just not as bad?