Thread: Cooking Once a Week page

colejames is offline Member

Cooking Once a Week

Primal Fuel
    I did a search on this topic, but only came up with a few threads and the information in them was very scattered so I thought I could use all your help.

I'm a male college student. By default, I don't exactly have much forte in cooking . The first few years of university, I ate in dining halls. And before that, obviously my family did the cooking. This year I'm living in an apartment style dorm so I have my own kitchen. Anyway, I'm very busy juggling my social life, school, working out, etc so I find cooking one day for the entire week is easiest. I need some advice though.

1. Where do I store cooked vegetables and meats assuming it all gets eaten within a week? Freezer, Fridge? Do some things need to go in the freezer while others in the fridge?

2. What do I store them in? Plastic bags? Glass Containers? Tupperware?

3. What staple dishes should I make? What recipes stores well and are easy to make? I'm thinking simple recipes here please, using things like ground beef or chicken breast etc. the basics. Oh, and without any obscure ingredients that I would only buy to use once.

4. Any other recommendations and tips you learned from your experience cooking?

supersellen is offline Senior Member
    A typical week for us is to make many servings of something like a meatloaf, frittata, and some sort of soup. This all stores in the fridge for a week+ fine. I go ahead and divide into individual servings and wrap separately.

For example, last week I cooked the following on Sunday for the week:

10 mini meatloaves
    9x13 of a chicken and kale frittata
    Large batch of Thai sweet potato soup

This week:

Smoked 6 salmon filets and 4 chicken breasts for salads, cut up all salad stuff
    Mexican inspired fritatta with beef, spinach, and cheese
    Large batch of Chicken mushroom soup
    For lots of tasty recipes, check out my blog -http://lifeasadreger.wordpress.com/